Governor Otti Inaugurates Mayors

As Local Government Transition Chairmen


Governor. Otti Inaugurates Mayors

The newly appointed Transition Committee Chairmen ( Mayors) for the 17 Local Government Areas of Abia State have been inaugurated by Governor Alex Otti, OFR with a charge to make the local communities conducive for active production and rapid growth.

In his speech at the occasion titled “Expanding the Frontiers of Development” the Governor said:
“Your primary task as mayors and deputies shall be to make the local communities and towns conducive for active production and rapid growth. We expect you to quickly develop holistic frameworks for improving agriculture and light scale production in ways that enhance outputs and attract domestic and foreign investors.”

Governor Otti reminded them that their appointment is a call to serve and not to be served.
“We do not expect you to get everything right on the first day but you must be willing to learn, keeping your mind open to new ideas and possibilities.” He promised that his administration would give each of them freehand to manage the affairs of the council responsibly. He said it is very important to design their programmes in ways that align with the general development philosophy of the present Labour Party administration in the State.

He further tasked them to enhance security of their various LGAs. “Your first task as leaders of the various LGAs shall include strengthening the security architecture in the towns and villages within your domain, especially as the yuletide approaches.”

The Governor disclosed that his administration is working with multiple stakeholders, including multilateral and donor agencies, global IT companies and local financial institutions, to develop a robust framework for addressing the critical challenges facing the people. including endemic poverty, restricted access to basic amenities , limited skills for enhanced earning and unequal access to the boundless opportunities of the 21st century global economy.

He charged them to get their priorities right, build networks that can help them drive the development agenda of the Labour Party in their LGAs and discern where more would be achieved through partnership with relevant agencies of the State. He admonished them to guard against distractions that are bound to come from internal wrangling.

On his reason for appointing such class of people as Mayors, Governor Otti said “We need the best hands and heads to drive the development of the state. We are in a hurry to elevate the standards of leadership to accommodate strictly those who have something to offer.”

He thanked the Mayors and their Deputies for accepting to bring their extensive wealth of experience in various fields of human endeavours to bear in the service of their communities and urged them to serve as the vanguards of the New Abia in the 17 LGAs.

Earlier in his speech, the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Prince Uzor Nwachukwu said Governor Alex Otti desires to bring together the individuals as Mayors and heads of the Local Government Councils because he has great plans for the LGAs which include ensuring accelerated development in the grassroots . He said there is no doubt that the Mayors would deliver given their pedigree.

In their various speeches, the
Mayor for IsialaNgwa South LGA:
Dr. Elelenta Nwambuisi Elelenta, the Mayor for Arochukwu LGA, Chief Joe Eze Aru and their Ikwuano counterpart, Mr. Osinachi Nwaka thanked the Governor for appointing them and pledged their commitment to serve.

The event which attracted many diginitaries including the Deputy Governor, Speaker of the State House of Assembly and memvers, Hon Commissioners, aids to the Governor, Chairman, State Labour Party Chairman Abia Council of Ndi Eze and his colleagues among others featured presentation of the the report of the Committee on Civil Service Reform by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof. Kenneth Kalu.

The Mayors and their Deputies are;
1. Aba North LGA:
Chairman- Ide John Udeagbala
Deputy- Prince Nnaemeka Ogbonna

2. Aba South LGA:
Chairman- Mr. Uchechukwu A. C. Wogu
Deputy- Mrs. Nkiru Ugwu.

3. Arochukwu LGA:
Chairman- Chief Joe Eze Aru
Deputy- Mr. Okezie Azuma

4. Bende LGA:
Chairman- Barr. Chijioke Nwankwo.
Deputy- Mr. Onyedikachi Iroegbu

5. Ikwuano LGA:
Chairman- Mr. Osinachi Hycinth Nwaka.
Deputy- Chief Charles Ugbuajah

6. IsialaNgwa North LGA:
Chairman- Mr. C. Y. Nwankwo.
Deputy- Mr. Uchenna Nwanbuko.

7. IsialaNgwa South LGA:
Chairman- Dr. Elelenta Nwambuisi Elelenta
Deputy- Mr. Eberechukwu Ahuruonye.

8. Isuikwuato LGA:
Chairman – Air Vice Marshal Chinwendu Onyike (Rtd).
Deputy- Hon. Harrison Onuke.

9. Obingwa LGA:
Chairman- Dr. Eric Egwuibe
Deputy- Mr. Chiemela Ekpemu

10. Ohafia LGA:
Chairman- Chief David Ogba
Deputy- Hon. Mkpa Oju Uka.

11. Osisioma Ngwa LGA:
Chairman- Engr. Israel Nweke
Deputy- Barr. Young Ngwaziem.

12. Ukwa East LGA:
Chairman- Dr. Mrs. Ngozi Nwagbara
Deputy- Chief Onyebuchi Nnah.

13. Ukwa West LGA:
Chairman- Mr. Newman Azu.
Deputy- Mr. Anele Michael

14. Ugwunagbo LGA:
Chairman- Comrade Nosike Ihesiaba
Deputy- Mr. Nnamdi Kelvin Chijioke.

15. Umuahia North LGA:
Chairman- Chief Victor Ikeji
Deputy- Mr. Okechukwu Anthony Amah.

16. Umuahia – South LGA:
Chairman- Mr. Obike Ejike Nnochiri
Deputy- Mr. Olendingwa Nwabueze

17. Umunneochi LGA:
Chairman- Mr. Ndubuisi Ike.
Deputy- Mr. Njoku Augustine C.