Abia Assembly Confirms Judicial Service Commission Nominees

...Two YPP Members Dump Party For Labour Party


The Member representing Osisioma North State constituency , Hon. Iheanocho Nwogu and the Member representing Osisioma South State constituency Hon. Fyne Ahuama have officially announced their defection from the Young Progressive Party (YPP) to Labour Party (LP) with effect from 14th May 2024.

This followed a letter written to the House by the defected members and read by the speaker Emmanuel Emeruwa at the plenary sitting

Announcing their defection at floor of the House, Iheanocho Nwogu explained that he was expelled by his Party the YPP for anti party activities hence his decision to join the Labor Party

Again, Member representing Osisioma South State Constituency Hon. Fyne Ahuama who equally noted that he was expelled by his Party (YPP), said having seen what the Governor has done in the State, his defection was geared towards supporting the Governor Dr. Alex Otti to do more.

With the new development, the Labour Party has 11 members in the House, while the PDP presently has 11 members while the APC has just 1 member

The Speaker also read out a message from the Governor Dr. Otti seeking for the screening and confirmation of Members of the Judicial Service Commission Nominees

Members screened and confirmed by the House include; Chibuzor Irobi, Mr. Finecountry Maduforo Iyioku, Prof. Chukwu Udensi and Engr. Moses Ogbonna.

The House adjourned to reconvene on 15th Wednesday 2024.